Bernhard Martin

Between Disney and Tarantino

Photos: Kevin Mananga

All the clichés of a bohemian fit the artist. Since he was fifteen, Bernhard Martin has given free rein to his sheer unbridled thirst for adventure. Unconventionally and excessively, he follows his ideas about art. Gambling, drug use, counterfeiting, or life on the streets, simply belonged to his way of life; because “pushing the limits of society” means art to him. Therfore, you can find very unique visual worlds in his compositions, which are represented in the most prominent art collections in the world, such as MoMa in New York or the Arario Museum in Seoul, and his work is regularly presented in equally prominent exhibition spaces.

I try to get to the bottom of the riddles of his often grotesque fantasy world in my visit to his studio in Berlin. The word explosive best describes the multiple currents of thought that swirl towards me in our conversation.

But first, I get to explore his creative space. In every corner of his studio, which exudes the flair of a classical old Berlin-apartment, there is something to discover. Drawn canvases, mixed paints, painting tools, sketches and unfinished paintings show that he is working in the front area, while on the way to the garden it becomes more and more homely and his passion for collecting art becomes apparent. His own works are predominantly and atmospherically staged in the last room in a setting that seems to have sprung from the remake of an English literary classic.

Studio impressions

   

“This is my cabinet with a therapeutic couch. I also sleep here from time to time when it’s late”, he explains. “And this is my representation of the Dorian Gray portrait. Here, the point of view of the image changed the perspective.” [see image below].

So I was intuitively right with the literary classic. As for the content of the painting, it is the change of perspective that triggers this typical irritation, which is an almost stylistic feature of Bernhard Martin’s art. There is always something familiar in it, but then somehow it does not fit with the rest. Why?

Martin: Because I’m not interested in pure representation at all, but rather in illustration, or in other words the mutations, twists, metamorphoses of language, the invention of stories with painting.

E.B.: What do you mean by that exactly?

Martin: You have to see my pictures abstractly. I am myself morbid and mutating. They are fantasy creations that reflect another level of reality. Truth and reality are for me the absolutely most boring things there are. Also in art. For me, the question of meaning, which is hidden behind the pure representation, is much more exciting. Painting, or whatever medium, is just a tool to visually travel to something else: it can be the content or a formal reference to the medium. Like, for example, in the Dorian Gray painting, I visualize the frame as an element of paintings. In other paintings, I visualize the most diverse adventures of thought.

t.l.: Warten auf das Andere (2014), t.r.: Cooks of Harmony (2019), b.l.: Au dessus et en Dessous de l Avant (2020), b.r.: Elysian Fields (2017)

   

E.B.: Are these your personal or imagined adventures?

Martin: Both. In general, those imagined adventures arise from unpredictable and unassessable encounters, which causes extreme situations. You believe you are not up to it and that presents us with unpredictable challenges; which is the classic adventure that each of us is looking for in some way, but that our now very conformist world hardly has in store for us. We must not confuse adventure with leaving our comfort zone. The only thing that remains, or rather is everlasting, is that which takes place within ourselves, in our imagination. Provided that we are willing to allow it, which is possible as an artist.

In my paintings I visualize imagined adventures, created in my head, but at the same time related to real events or personal reflections.

E.B.: Do you use real subjects in the representation of these fantasy worlds?

Martin: Yes, because the shift of reality to spiritual functions, primarily by placing familiar themes or figures in unfamiliar contexts. A slapstick situation that actually occurs in reality, for exampIe, if I depict the involuntary collision of two people with two cucumbers or two pieces of chewing gum, I simply give the narrative a different direction.

E.B.: Or with four cucumbers and a carrot, as in this painting here?

Martin: Exactly. Cucumbers and a carrot tied to puppet strings, handled by a woman’s hand. The picture contains a lot of references: the relationship man-woman in the manipulating puppet show; the subject of the cucumber as such, the invention of a game with minimal means, the stupidity of the subject in general, social differences, the theme of meatless-vegan or is it perhaps a feminist image? The most important thing for me is always that it is simply a good, and above all a picture never seen before.

Declaration of the painting La Jardinière (2021)

E.B.: As it often happens in your paintings, a positive-looking, but evil radiating scenery is seen. Equally typical is the gaudy, almost kitschy color mood in the dream frequency-like light glow.

Martin: I like to play with the aesthetics of frosting, or at the moment, of powdery; and paint pictures with a user-friendly interface and user-hostile content – a kind of mixture of Disney and Tarantino …

E.B.: To continue this comparison, a tremendous flood of images is typically characteristic. Where do you get the ideas for your pictures?

Martin: From the memory of my subconscious. I’m very attentive to everything that surrounds me; I’m boundlessly curious and therefore permanently in recording mode with all of my senses. Even while I’m working, I listen to audio books, have the TV on, maybe even play a symphony on top of it, and browse Instagram on the side. I’m feeding myself the whole available undigested media offering, so to speak. The result is hundreds of images that I look at throughout the day. I’m an image eater, or perhaps I should say an image hunter.       

Image hunter Bernhard Martin

E.B.: And these images then flow directly into your painting?

Martin: Not necessarily directly. I store them in my head, make thought sketches, load them up with philosophical, symbolic or also spiritual thoughts. Then, individual picture fragments want to find their way out of me onto the canvas and an overall scene develops from my imagination. I bet on the surprise effect. Just as in life.

E.B.: But that also brings unpleasant surprises.

Martin: Yes, of course. That’s just part of it. Of course, I also want a life without detours, but if it’s supposed to be exciting, then things can also go wrong sometimes – all of that is an issue. And in the end, it only becomes challenging when the routine gets messed up and then, you somehow manage it anyway. This non-calculable aspect is the most interesting thing. However, to be able to engage with it freely in one’s mind presupposes unconstrained thinking, which usually gets lost in the course of a lifetime under permanent regulations. I instinctively resist this. That’s why my excesses, I hope, will not stop in the foreseeable future. Why should I want to take it easy and grow up? There is no single reason why I would want to do it. I think pushing the limits of society is what art is all about. If I can’t do that, I’ll create my own rules.

E.B.: Were you such a restless spirit even as a child?

Martin: Not restless – alive. I always needed many valves to let my energy flow out. Actually, it’s always about energy transfer, even in art. The decisive thing for the viewer is not that he must necessarily understand it, but that he feels a transfer of energy. Just as you feel in the pub when you’re sitting alone with a drink, with two bores sitting next to you, and you know exactly that you don’t want to talk to them.

 

Who doesn’t know this situation? But so far I haven’t connected it with contemplating art. The connection of Bernhard Martin and his art, on the other hand, has become apparent after this conversation. The words that immediately popped into my head and can be found published on my social media account encompasses everything that sum up everything retrospectively: “Profound, humorous, quirky, multi-faceted, surprising: the person Bernhard Martin as well as his fantastic visual worlds”.

And that is truly a mixture of Disney and Tarantino!

Further Information
My purchase recommendation

Mr Foarm and Ms Sponge middle-aged and nasty (2019)

Oil on canvas

Size: 145 x 135cm

Courtesy: Dittrich & Schlechtriem Gallery, Berlin

Price: 33.500€€ (incl. VAT)

if you are interested please send an Email with the Artist’s name and artwork. Contact me

Bernhard Martin

Zwischen Disney und Tarantino

Fotos: Kevin Mananga

Er ist ein Künstler, der alle Klischees eines Bohemiens bedient. Bereits seit seinem fünfzehnten Lebensjahr lässt Bernhard Martin seiner schier unbändigen Abenteuerlust freien Lauf. Unkonventionell und exzessiv folgt er seinen Ideen zur Kunst. Glücksspiel, Drogenkonsum, Fälschungsdelikte oder das Leben auf der Straße gehörten einfach irgendwie dazu, weil „an die Grenzen der Gesellschaft zu stoßen“ für ihn Kunst bedeutet.

Im Ergebnis finden sich sehr besondere Bildwelten von ihm komponiert, die in den prominentesten Sammlungen der Welt, wie beispielsweise der des MoMa in New York oder der des Arario Museums in Seoul vertreten sind und regelmäßig in ebenso prominenten Ausstellungshäusern präsentiert werden.

Mit meinem Besuch in seinem Atelier in Berlin versuche ich, den Rätseln seiner oft grotesken Fantasiewelten auf den Grund zu gehen. Das Wort explosiv trifft am besten die geballte Ladung multipelster Gedankenströme, die mir in unserem Gespräch entgegengewirbelt werden.

Doch zunächst einmal darf ich seine Kreativstätte erkunden. In jedem Winkel seines den Flair einer klassischen Berliner Altbauwohnung ausströmenden Studios, gibt es etwas zu entdecken. Aufgezogene Leinwände, angerührte Farben, Malwerkzeuge, Skizzen oder auch unfertige Gemälde lassen erkennen, dass im vorderen Bereich gearbeitet wird, während es auf dem Weg in Richtung Garten immer wohnlicher wird und sich seine Sammelleidenschaft für Kunst zu erkennen gibt. Überwiegend eigene Arbeiten finden sich dann stimmungsvoll im letzten Raum in einem Setting inszeniert, das der Neuverfilmung eines englischen Literaturklassikers entsprungen zu sein scheint.

Studio-Impressionen

   

„Das ist mein Kabinett mit therapeutischer Couch. Hier schlafe ich auch ab und zu, wenn es mal spät geworden ist“, lautet die Erläuterung zur Nutzung. „Und das ist meine Darstellung des Dorian-Gray-Bildnisses. Mal im Perspektivwechsel aus der Sicht des Bildes.“ [s. Abbildung unten].

Mit dem Literaturklassiker lag ich also intuitiv richtig. Doch was den Inhalt des Gemäldes betrifft, so ist es in diesem Fall der Perspektivwechsel, der die typische Irritation auslöst und die als geradezu stilistisches Merkmal die Kunst von Bernhard Martin bezeichnet. Immer ist etwas Bekanntes darin zu sehen, das dann aber irgendwie nicht zum Rest passt. Warum?

Martin: Weil es mir um die reine Darstellung überhaupt nicht geht, sondern vielmehr um die Illustration oder anders gesagt die Mutationen, Wendungen, Metamorphosen der Sprache, dem Erfinden von Geschichten mit Malerei.

E.B.: Was meinst du damit genau?

Martin: Man muss meine Bilder abstrakt sehen, ich selbst bin ja morbid und eine Mutation. Es sind Fantasiegebilde, die eine andere Ebene als die der Realität spiegeln. Wahrheit und Realität sind für mich das absolut Langweiligste, was es gibt. Auch in der Kunst. Für mich ist die Gesinnungsfrage, die sich hinter der reinen Darstellung verbirgt, viel spannender. Die Malerei, oder welches Medium auch immer, ist nur ein Tool, um einen Transfer zu etwas anderem herzustellen. Das können Inhalte sein oder auch formale Verweise auf das Medium als solches. Wie ich beispielsweise im Dorian Gray-Bild den Rahmen als Element der Malerei oder in anderen Bildern unterschiedlichste Gedankenabenteuer visualisiere.

o.l.: Warten auf das Andere (2014), o.r.: Cooks of Harmony (2019), u.l.: Au dessus et en Dessous de l Avant (2020), u.r.: Elysian Fields (2017)

   

E.B.: Sind es deine persönlichen oder allgemeine Gedankenabenteuer?

Martin: Sowohl als auch. Allgemein sind es jene Gedankenabenteuer, die über unvorhersehbare und nicht einschätzbare Begegnungen entstehen und Extremsituationen hervorrufen, denen man glaubt, nicht gewachsen zu sein und uns vor unvorhersehbare Herausforderungen stellen; die eigentlich das klassische Abenteuer bezeichnen, das jeder von uns auf irgendeine Art und Weise sucht, aber unsere mittlerweile sehr angeglichene Welt kaum noch für uns bereithält. Man darf das Abenteuer nicht mit dem Verlassen der Komfortzone verwechseln. Das einzig Verbliebene oder besser gesagt Immerwährende ist deshalb das, was in uns selbst, in unserer Fantasie stattfindet. Vorausgesetzt, wir sind bereit es zuzulassen, was als Künstler eben möglich ist.

In meinen Bildern kreiere ich Gedankenabenteuer, die in meinem Kopf entstanden sind, aber gleichzeitig in Bezug zu realen Ereignissen oder persönlichen Überlegungen stehen.

E.B.: Bedienst du dich deshalb innerhalb der Darstellung dieser Fantasiewelten real existierender Sujets?

Martin: Ja, weil die Realitätsverschiebung ins Geistige vor allem darüber funktioniert, bekannte Themen oder Figuren in unbekannte Zusammenhänge zu stellen. Wenn ich beispielsweise den unfreiwilligen Zusammenprall von zwei Personen, also eine sich tatsächlich in der Realität ereignende Slapstick-Situation, mit zwei Gurken oder zwei Kaugummis darstelle, gebe ich der Erzählung einfach eine andere Richtung.

E.B.: Oder mit vier Gurken und einer Karotte, wie in diesem Gemälde hier?

Martin: Genau. Gurken und Karotte, verknüpft an Marionettenfäden, geführt von einer Frauenhand. Das Bild enthält jede Menge Verweise: das Verhältnis Mann/Frau im manipulierenden Puppenspiel, das Sujet der Gurke als solche, die Erfindung eines Spiels mit minimalsten Mitteln, die Stupidität des Sujets als solches, soziale Unterschiede, das Thema Fleischlos/Vegan oder ist es vielleicht ein feministisches Bild? Das wichtigste für mich ist immer, das es einfach ein gutes und vor allem ein in der Form noch nie gesehenes Bild ist.

Erläuterung zum Gemälde La Jardinière (2021)

E.B.: Wie so oft in deinen Bildern ist eine positiv anmutende, aber gleichzeitig auch etwas Böses ausstrahlende Szenerie zu sehen. Ebenso typisch ist die knallige, fast kitschige Farbstimmung im traumfrequenzartigen Lichtschein.

Martin: Ich spiele gern mit der Ästhetik des Zuckergusses, oder momentan dem Pudrigem, und male Bilder mit einer benutzerfreundlichen Oberfläche und einem benutzerfeindlichen Inhalt – eine Art Mischung aus Disney und Tarantino …

E.B.: Um in diesem Vergleich zu bleiben, ist neben anderen Parallelen eine gewaltige Bilderflut charakterisierend. Woher holst du dir die Ideen für deine Bilder?

Martin: Aus dem Speicher meines Unterbewusstseins. Ich habe eine große Aufmerksamkeit gegenüber allem, das mich umgibt; bin grenzenlos neugierig und deshalb permanent mit allen Sinnen im Aufnahmemodus. Auch parallel zu meiner Arbeit höre ich Hörbücher, habe den Fernseher laufen, vielleicht obendrauf noch eine Sinfonie und werfe nebenbei einen Blick auf Instagram. Ich mute mir sozusagen das ganze verfügbare Unverdaute des Medienangebots zu. Im Ergebnis sind es viele hundert Bilder, die ich mir über den Tag verteilt anschaue. Ich bin ein Imagefresser oder vielleicht besser gesagt ein Imagehunter.

Imagehunter Bernhard Martin

E.B.: Und diese Images fließen dann unmittelbar in deine Malerei ein?

Martin: Nicht zwingend unmittelbar. Ich speichere sie in meinem Kopf, mache Gedankenskizzen, lade sie mit philosophischen, symbolischen oder auch spirituellen Gedanken auf, bis dann einzelne Bildfragmente aus mir heraus den Weg auf die Leinwand finden wollen und aus meiner Vorstellungskraft sich dann eine Gesamtszene entwickelt. Ich setze auf den Überraschungseffekt. So wie im Leben auch.

E.B.: Was aber auch unangenehme Überraschungen mit sich bringt.

Martin: Ja klar. Die gehören nun mal dazu. Natürlich wünsche auch ich mir ein Leben ohne Umwege, aber wenn es aufregend sein soll, dann geht auch mal was schief – all das ist Thema. Und letztlich wird es erst herausfordernd, wenn die Routine durcheinander gerät und man es dann trotzdem irgendwie hinbekommt. Dieses Nicht-Kalkulierbare ist doch das Interessanteste. Sich frei im Kopf darauf einlassen zu können setzt allerdings ein ungezwungenes Denken voraus, das sich im Laufe eines Lebens unter permanenten Vorgaben meist verliert. Instinktiv wehre ich mich dagegen. Deshalb hoffe ich, dass meine Exzessiv-Zeit auch absehbar nicht aufhören wird. Warum soll ich mich schonen und erwachsen werden wollen? Es gibt keinen einzigen Grund, warum ich das wollte. Ich denke, an die Grenzen der Gesellschaft zu stoßen ist doch das, was Kunst ausmacht. Wenn das nicht geht, schaffe ich mir meine eigenen Regeln.

E.B.: Warst du schon als Kind ein so unruhiger Geist?

Martin: Nicht unruhig – lebendig. Ich brauchte immer viele Ventile, um meine Energie irgendwo einfließen zu lassen. Eigentlich geht es doch immer um Energietransfer, auch in der Kunst. Entscheidend für den Betrachter ist nicht, dass er sie zwingend verstehen muss, sondern einen Energietransfer spürt. So wie man das auch in der Kneipe spürt, wenn man dort allein mit einem Drink sitzt, zwei Langweiler neben sich hocken hat und ganz genau weiß, dass man mit denen nicht reden will.

 

Wer kennt diese Situation nicht? Doch habe ich sie bisher nicht mit Kunstbetrachtung in Zusammenhang gestellt. Der Zusammenhang von Bernhard Martin und seiner Kunst hingegen hat sich nach diesem Gespräch wie von selbst zu erkennen gegeben. Die Worte, die mir unmittelbar in den Kopf geschossen sind und sich in meinem Social-Media-Account veröffentlicht finden, umfassen all das, was auch im Rückblick alles auf den Punkt bringt: „Tiefsinnig, humorvoll, schräg, facettenreich, überraschend: Die Person Bernhard Martin ebenso wie seine fantastischen Bildwelten“.

Und das ist wahrhaftig eine Mischung aus Disney und Tarantino!

Weitere Informationen

https://www.instagram.com/bernhardmartinstudio/?hl=de

www.bernhardmartin.com

vertretende Galerien:

Dittrich & Schlechtriem Gallery, Berlin: https://dittrich-schlechtriem.com

Choi & Lager Gallery, Köln: http://www.choiandlager.com 

Autorin: www.elke-backes.de