Fabio Borquez

Photography noir? – A studio visit in seven scenes

Studio photos: Lucas Coersten

Prologue: Before starting in an unaccustomed and unusual way, a short explanation of the idea generating process: I met Fabio Borquez for the first time at the beginning of 2020. The reason was his impressive exhibition Flores del Mal at Schloss Benrath in Düsseldorf. On view were photos of nude women who formed almost symbiotic creatures in artistic productions with flowers. The opulent ambience of the castle created the perfect backdrop.

The poses of the women that were reminiscent of antique statues, their expressions and the colour spaces of the pictures which conjured images of the colourised film style of the German Expressionism, and last but not least the title Flores del Mal [“Flowers of Evil”] left a lasting impression.

A bouquet of hydrangeas that I had arranged on my dining room table in the autumn, reminded me of these pictures, as well as of Fabio’s invitation, to come and drop in for coffee at his live-in studio. Taking him up on this, he surprised me, at the visit, with the spontaneous idea of wanting to make a film of my studio visit at his place.

Questions doubting the achievement of this followed my intuitively given agreement. Normally, I visit artists as unprepared as possible in order to get an impression of their work. Everything develops spontaneously. With a film team behind us, which has to technically prepare every scene with camera and lighting, and a protagonist who is also the director, spontaneity is obviously not achievable…..A rough storyboard was accordingly unavoidable. Filming followed promptly. Immediately thereafter I realised that the cut to the film could not take place without my text. The story had to develop via the sequence of the filmed scenes. To a certain extent, a postscript to the studio visit to Fabio Borquez. I could not, however, do without the essay form so typical of my blog ,)

Script

[with personal comments]

Scene 1 Intro

While standing at the window of Fabio’s kitchen staring dreamily at the hydrangea bed, my thoughts take me back.

[The mental flashbacks are told through film sequences.]

Scene 2 Journey and Arrival

I am nervous when I travel to my first film shoot. Will it be possible to transpose my art blog, which, in essence, works via a combination of text and picture, into moving pictures? That is to say, to create an art documentation with entertainment value ? Definitely a challenge! Also, a challenge is the seemingly unimaginable diversity of Fabio Borquez’s portfolio. Would there be a common thread that connects everything? And would this common thread become obvious already during our first meeting? Questions upon questions are rushing through my head. But for now: Take a deep breath, concentrate and go …!

Scene 3 Welcome in the opulent entrance all of the art nouveau villa. We go to the kitchen, open-plan to the lounge. Fabio is preparing coffee. I look around.

Initial small talk in the kitchen …

Elke: The equipment in the kitchen gives the impression that cooking is fun, right?

Fabio: Yes. Absolutely. For me, preparing food is a way to get rid of stress. I am not somebody who can simply sit and do nothing. I always have to be busy. Cooking helps me to sort myself out and allows new ideas to bubble up. While I am busy with it, ideas for pictures build up in my head in ever increasing succession.

Elke: It is very convenient then, that the distance to the studio is so short and all you have to do for their implementation is to charge up the stairs. And, looking around, a love of architecture and design – besides for cooking – becomes apparent.

Impressions of the home of Fabio Borquez

Fabio: That is correct, I personally made the alterations to the house based on my own plans. My original profession is that of an architect. Photography came later.

Elke: What then drew you to photography?

Fabio: During my architectural studies I got bursaries for projects in various countries. I discovered that I wanted to travel and became curious about the world. Ultimately, it was the travel that led me to photography. My camera accompanied me everywhere, so many photos were taken.

Examples of travel photographs; bottom right, a self-portrait of Fabio

Fabio: In order to finance more travel, at some point I got the idea to submit a few of my photos to publishers. Thanks to the income from these, I later went to India, where one of my photographs became very important. I used it to participate in a significant photo competition and won. I needed this official recognition to be able to believe in myself as a photographer.

The winning photo

Elke: Was there a special direction your photography took, in the beginning? Did you concentrate more on architecture, people or rather moods which you tried to capture?

Fabio: Mainly people, which I think has something to do with my study of architecture. The theory of proportion had a strong influence on me and subconsciously always determined my picture compositions – theories like that of Modulor by Le Corbusier, which defines man as the measure of architecture. I very much enjoy a composition of man and architecture, because it enables me to express the proportions or to put the emphasis on monumentality of the building. Incidentally, I have an affinity for large rooms. I could, in fact, live in Versailles [laughs].

Examples of photographs with people and architecture

Elke: A certain partiality to opulence and grandiose decor can frequently be seen in your photographs. Privately, however, you obviously prefer a more uncluttered style. No sign of Versailles.

Fabio: No [smiles dismissively]. Privately, I am more of a minimalist. I need structure. That applies to my photography as much as to my life. I need this calmness as a frame in order to be able to follow my nature. I am Argentinian with Sicilian and Sevillian blood in my veins.

Elke: Oh, I see! You come from Buenos Aires. Besides your desire for travel, was there an intention to emigrate?

Fabio: No. I never imagined that I would be able to live so far away from my own country.

Elke: And how did you end up in Germany?

Fabio: Well, that is a special story. A photo shoot had taken me to Miami. While walking along the beach after work, I saw a girl. I started talking to her and kept asking her questions. After a few minutes she asked me, slightly irritated, why I was doing that. I replied: Because I think I am going to marry you. She just looked at me and asked whether I had taken drugs. Well, what must I say? She gave me a chance. And now I am here. Since 1998. Don’t forget: I am Latin-American. And quite charming.

[While Fabio is still speaking – and before I know what’s happening – I am asked to dance, with the camera still running, and completely lose my train of thought.]

Spontaneous request to dance

[While the subsequent change of scene helps with my reset, I tend to keep losing my thread because of quite a lot of interruptions. I kept being reminded of my favourite sketch from Loriot: “My name is Erwin Lottemann ….. I am five hundred thousand years old….” The call: “Camera rolling, sound recording” brings me back with a shock.]

Scene 4 Library: Considering picture content and aesthetics

Behind the scenes … (Library scene)

Elke: Looking at your decor and furniture in their own setting, a preference for the period of the early twentieth century becomes apparent. The photographs directly behind me, to me also reflect an atmosphere typical of that period. Was it planned like this, or did the architectural frame allow this ambience to emerge by chance?

Photographs reflecting the aesthetics of the nineteen twenties

Fabio: It was planned like this. I love the classical period of the nineteen twenties and the German Expressionism and am also a great fan of cinema. For instance, the dramatic picture moods of Metropolis were a great inspiration for me. The same applies to the nineteen fifties films of the “film noir” genre and particularly the Italian films.

Filmstills?

Fabio: I simply adore Fellini! I met him for a coffee in Rome on the 5th May 1992 … [rhapsodizing, with eyes shining]

Elke: Wow! You even remember the exact date? Were you able to have the coffee without getting burnt or choking?

Fabio: There even is a photo [beaming with pride]. And it is the only one of me that shows me beaming from one ear to the other. I had only asked him if I could take a picture of him. I never do that. He asked me to take a seat and invited me for coffee. I will definitely never forget that day!

Elke: With the knowledge of your affinity for the film genre just talked about, I spontaneously remember some of your individual motifs of Flores del Mal, which reflect exactly this aesthetics. What exactly gave you the idea for this series?

[Im Ausstellungskatalog suche ich nach Beispielen, bevor wir dann den geplanten Szenenwechsel zum Zwischengeschoss antreten. Dort befindet sich ein Leuchtkasten mit „Flores del mal“-Motiv. Nach circa acht Wiederholungen des Treppenaufgangs („Falsches Objektiv“, „Zu wenig Licht“, „Zweite Kamera im Bild“…) beantwortet Fabio die Frage, die ich vor einer gefühlten halben Stunde gestellt habe.]

Sample photos from the “Flores del Mal“ series

Scene 5 Mezzanine floor: Questions regarding “Flores del mal“

Fabio: The idea emerged when I bought some cut flowers for my wife. Suddenly I became aware that these flowers, which represent vibrant beauty to us, are already dead. At that moment, I understood their symbolic meaning of transience, life and death. I wondered how I could transfigure to and photographically express this fragile, natural mortality of man. The narratives about man-nature-metamorphoses in mythology and the wonderful sculptures, like that of the Nymph Daphne by Lorenzo Bellini of the Renaissance era sprang to mind.

Elke: Is the reason for the models to pose in the nude also to be found in this?

Fabio: Absolutely. Any piece of textile would have destroyed the concept. I wanted to visualise the bond between flowers and body, goddesses-like, as a natural union.

Elke: Why, then, did you decide on the Flores del Mal title, which means “Flowers of Evil”?

Fabio: There is a book of poetry of the same name by Charles Baudelaire, which was originally published in 1857. At that time, the volume caused a literary scandal that resulted in the prohibition of the poems. Baudelaire, too, made use of the imagery of transfiguration. However, the manner of his transfiguration was denounced as vulgar realism. It is exactly this combination of realism and symbolism, the hint of the discreditable, and last but not least the poetic reference as such, which were the reasons to use this title for my photography series.

Elke: So, again, you followed your inclination for a dramatic staging. Hence the stark bright-dark contrasts, dark shadows and the generally mystical impression?

Fabio: Yes, exactly. That is part of the concept.

Elke [Voice-over]: Slowly, the central theme is beginning to emerge. Could one perhaps transfigure the term “Film noir” to photography in the sense of film stills? In that way, the style of the photos of Fabio Borquez could be put into words. He stages his figures often with a certain flippancy, in a dark mood, seeming imprisoned in urban city spaces or nature that appears surreal. All these are characteristics typical of “Film noir.”

[The arrival of Christine, Fabio’s longstanding make-up artist, interrupts my thoughts and determines the next change of scene. In order to experience him live at work and, at the same time, be able to create a special cover photo for my blog, the idea had emerged during the initial contact to stage me as a model for an additional motif of the “Flores des Mal” series. So, off we go. I shall transform myself into a human hydrangea plant.]

Scene 6 (Dining room: Styling of cover photo)

Styling and Shooting

Scene 7 Studio: Shooting.

[Posing half-naked in front of the whole team in the merciless light of the studio is not exactly the best precondition to look nonchalantly into the camera. For the first time I am therefore immensely relieved when, finally, I hear the eagerly awaited “cut”.]

Various results of the shooing

Epilogue

What a day! What a flood of material! Thinking about it at night, is seems to me quite impossible that a film could emerge out of this mayhem. But the rough cuts I have since seen have surprised me more than positively. Here is indeed a cinematographer at work, who tells his own story with moving pictures and thus also that of his photography. An independent-art documentation against the background of “Photography noir”. Truly an experiment. You may be excited!

Further Information

Website Fabio Borquez:

https://fabio-borquez.com

My purchase recommendation

Motif of the series „FLORES DEL MAL“ (2019)

Aludibond Print

Ultrachrom-Pigments on PCR 310 Paper

Nr. 1/10

Courtesy: The Artist

Price: 6000€ (additional shipping costs)

if you are interested please send an Email with the Artist’s name and artwork. Contact me

Fabio Borquez

Fotografie noir? – Ein Atelierbesuch in sieben Szenen

Atelierfotos: Lucas Coersten

Prolog: Bevor es gleich in ungewohnter und ungewöhnlicher Form losgeht, eine kurze Erklärung zur Ideenfindung: Das erste Mal begegnete ich Fabio Borquez zu Beginn dieses Jahres. Anlass war seine beeindruckende Ausstellung Flores del Mal auf Schloss Benrath in Düsseldorf. Zu sehen waren dort Aktfotografien von Frauen, die in kunstvollen Inszenierungen mit Blumen geradezu symbiotische Wesen bildeten. Das opulente Ambiente des Schlosses schuf den perfekten Rahmen.

Die Posen der Frauen, die teils an antike Statuen erinnerten, ihre Blicke, ihr Make-up und die Farbräume der Bilder, die an colorierte Film-Stills aus der Zeit des Deutschen Expressionismus denken ließen, und nicht zuletzt der Titel Flores del Mal, übersetzt „Blumen des Bösen“, hinterließen einen bleibenden Eindruck.

Ein Strauß Hortensien, den ich im Herbst auf meinem Esstisch arrangierte, erinnerte mich an diese Bilder und auch an Fabios Einladung, ihn einfach einmal auf einen Kaffee in seinem Wohnatelier besuchen zu kommen. Dieser Einladung folgend, überraschte er mich bei meinem Besuch mit seiner spontanen Idee, einen Atelierbesuch bei ihm als Film produzieren zu wollen.

Meiner intuitiv getroffenen Zusage folgten zweifelnde Fragen hinsichtlich der Realisierung. Üblicherweise fahre ich möglichst unvorbereitet zu Künstlern, um mir unvoreingenommen ein Bild über ihre Arbeit machen zu können. Alles entwickelt sich spontan. Mit einem Filmteam im Rücken, das jede Szene kamera- und lichttechnisch vorbereiten muss, und einem Protagonisten, der gleichzeitig Regisseur ist, ist es logischerweise vorbei mit jeder Spontaneität … Ein grobes Storyboard war entsprechend unumgänglich. Der Dreh folgte prompt. Unmittelbar danach wurde mir klar, dass der Schnitt zum Film nicht ohne meinen Text erfolgen könnte. Die Geschichte müsste sich über die Abfolge der gedrehten Szenen entwickeln. Gewissermaßen ein nachträgliches Drehbuch zum Atelierbesuch bei Fabio Borquez. Nicht verzichten konnte ich allerdings auf die für meinen Blog so typische Essay-Form 😉

Drehbuch

[mit persönlichen Anmerkungen]

Szene 1 Intro

Verträumt schaue ich aus dem Fenster in Fabios Küche. Mein Blick ist auf das Hortensienbeet gerichtet. Ich denke zurück.

[Die gedanklichen Rückblenden werden durch Filmsequenzen erzählt.]

Szene 2 Anfahrt und Ankunft

Nervös begebe ich mich auf den Weg zu meinen ersten Filmdreh. Ob es möglich werden wird meinen Kunstblog, der eigentlich über die Kombination von Text und Bild funktioniert, in bewegte Bilder zu übertragen? Sozusagen eine Kunstdoku mit Unterhaltungswert zu kreieren? Definitiv eine Herausforderung! Ebenfalls eine Herausforderung ist die scheinbar unüberschaubare Vielfalt des Portfolios von Fabio Borquez. Ob es einen roten Faden gibt, der alles miteinander verbindet? Und ob sich dieser rote Faden bereits während unseres Gesprächs zu erkennen geben wird? Fragen über Fragen schießen durch meinen Kopf. Jetzt aber heißt es: Tief durchatmen, volle Konzentration, und los …!

Szene 3 Begrüßung im opulenten Entrée des Jugendstil-Hauses. Wir gehen in die Küche, die zum Wohnraum hin geöffnet ist. Fabio bereitet Kaffee zu. Ich schaue mich um.

Erster Smalltalk in der Küche …

Elke: Das Equipment der Küche vermittelt den Eindruck, dass hier gern gekocht wird?

Fabio: Ja. Absolut. Kochen ist für mich ein wesentliches Mittel Stress abzubauen. Ich bin kein Mensch, der einfach nur ruhig dasitzen kann. Immer muss ich etwas machen. Kochen hilft mir mich zu sortieren und neue Ideen sprudeln zu lassen. Währenddessen bauen sich die besten Bildideen in meinem Kopf in einer rasanten Geschwindigkeit auf.

Elke: Dann ist es ja sehr praktisch, dass der Weg zum Studio so kurz ist und du zwecks Umsetzung nur die Treppe hochflitzen musst.

Und wenn man sich hier so umschaut, wird – neben der Liebe zum Kochen – auch eine Liebe zur Architektur und zum Design erkennbar.

Impressionen des Hauses von Fabio Borquez

Fabio: Das ist richtig. Den Umbau des Hauses habe ich nach eigenen Plänen komplett selbst gemacht.Mein ursprünglicher Beruf ist der des Architekten. Die Fotografie kam erst später.

Elke: Was hat dich denn zur Fotografie geführt?

Fabio:Während meines Architekturstudiums bekam ich Stipendien für Projekte in verschiedensten Ländern. Dabei entdeckte ich meine Reiselust und Neugierde auf die Welt. Es waren dann schließlich die Reisen, die mich zur Fotografie geführt haben. Meine Kamera war immer dabei, so dass viele Fotos entstanden sind.

Beispiele von Reisefotografien; rechts unten: Fabio im Selbstportrait

Fabio: Um auch weitere Reisen finanzieren zu können, kam ich irgendwann auf die Idee, einzelne meiner Fotografien bei Verlagen einzureichen. Dank der Honorare kam ich dann später auch nach Indien, wo ein sehr entscheidendes Foto entstanden ist. Mit diesem nahm ich an einem großen Fotowettbewerb teil und gewann. Es brauchte für mich diese offizielle Anerkennung, um an mich als Fotograf glauben zu können.

Das Gewinner-Foto

Elke: Gab es in den Anfängen bereits eine besondere fotografische Orientierung? Galt dein Blick mehr der Architektur, den Menschen oder eher Stimmungen, die du einzufangen versucht hast?

Fabio: Es waren vor allem Menschen, was vermutlich mit meinem Architekturstudium im Zusammenhang steht. Proportionstheorien, wie beispielsweise die des Modulor von Le Corbusier, die den Menschen als Maß für die Architektur definiert, haben mich stark beeinflusst und bestimmten unterbewusst immer meine Bildkompositionen. Ich komponiere sehr gern Mensch und Architektur im Bild, weil ich damit das Größenverhältnis zueinander zum Ausdruck bringen oder auch einen Akzent zur Monumentalität des Gebäudes setzen kann. Für große Räumlichkeiten habe ich – nebenbei bemerkt – ein Faible. Ich könnte auch in Versaille leben [lacht].

Beispiele für Fotografien mit Mensch und Architektur

Elke: Eine gewisse Vorliebe für Opulenz und große Ausstattung zeigt sich auch häufig in deinen Fotografien. Privat magst du es aber offensichtlich lieber pur. Von Versailles eher keine Spur.

Fabio: Nein [winkt schmunzelnd ab]. Privat bin ich eher Minimalist. Ich brauche Struktur. Das betrifft meine Fotografie ebenso wie mein Leben. Ich brauche diese Ruhe als Rahmen, um meinem Temperament spontan folgen zu können. Ich bin Argentinier mit sizilianischem und sevillanischem Blut.

Elke: Oha, verstehe. Du stammst aus Buenos Aires. Bestand bei dir mit Ausnahme des Wunsches zu reisen auch die Absicht auszuwandern?

Fabio: Nein. Niemals hätte ich gedacht, weit weg von meinem Land leben zu können.

Elke: Und wie kommt man dann nach Deutschland?

Fabio: Tja, das ist eine besondere Geschichte: Ein Fotoauftrag hatte mich nach Miami geführt. Beim Strandbesuch nach getaner Arbeit entdeckte ich dort ein Mädchen. Ich sprach sie an und stellte ihr Fragen über Fragen. Nach einigen Minuten fragte sie mich leicht genervt, warum ich das machen würde. Ich antwortete: Weil ich denke, dass ich dich heiraten werde. Sie hat mich nur angeschaut und gefragt, ob ich unter Drogen stünde. Naja, was soll ich sagen. Sie hat mir eine Chance gegeben. Und jetzt bin ich hier. Seit 1998. Du darfst nicht vergessen: Ich bin lateinamerikanisch. Und ganz charmant.

[Noch während Fabio den letzten Satz ausspricht – und ehe ich es mir versehe – werde ich vor laufender Kamera zum Tanzen aufgefordert und hiermit völlig aus dem Konzept gebracht.]

Spontane Aufforderung zum Tanz

[Der folgende Szenenwechsel unterstützt zwar meinen Reset, doch drohe ich über die insgesamt häufigen Unterbrechungen immer wieder den Faden zu verlieren. Ich fühle mich an einen meiner Lieblingssketche von Loriot erinnert: „Mein Name ist Erwin Lottemann, … ich bin fünfhunderttausend Jahre alt …“ Der Ruf: „Kamera läuft, Ton läuft“ holt mich jäh zurück.]

Szene 4 Bibliothek: Annäherung an Bildinhalte und Ästhetik

Behind the scenes … (Bibliothekszene)

Elke: Wenn man sich hier dein Mobiliar in seiner räumlichen Umgebung anschaut, erkennt man eine Vorliebe für das Zeitalter des frühen Zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts. Auch die Fotografie direkt hinter mir spiegelt für mich eine typische Stimmung dieser Zeit. War das so geplant oder hat der architektonische Rahmen per Zufall diese Stimmung entstehen lassen?

Fotografien in Zwanziger-Jahre-Ästhetik

Fabio: Das war so geplant. Ich liebe die klassische Epoche der 1920er Jahre, den deutschen Expressionismus und bin auch ein großer Kinoliebhaber. Die dramatischen Bildstimmungen von Metropolis waren beispielsweise für mich eine große Inspiration. Das gleiche gilt auch für Filme der 1950er Jahre im Genre des „Film noir“ und vor allem für italienische Filme.

Filmstills?

Fabio: Fellini verehre ich geradezu! Am 5. Mai 1992 habe ich ihn in Rom getroffen und mit ihm einen Kaffee getrunken … [schwärmerisch mit leuchtenden Augen]

Elke: Wouw! Du weißt sogar noch das genaue Datum? Konntest du den Kaffee trinken ohne dich zu verbrennen oder zu verschlucken?

Fabio: Es gibt davon sogar ein Foto [strahlt stolz]. Und das ist wirklich das Einzige von mir, das mich mit einem Lächeln von einem Ohr zum anderen zeigt. Ich hatte ihn nur gefragt, ob ich ein Foto mit ihm machen dürfte. Das mache ich wirklich nie! Er hat mir einen Platz angeboten und mich zum Kaffee eingeladen. Diesen Tag werde ich definitiv niemals vergessen!

Elke: Mit dem Wissen über deine Affinität für die aufgezeigten Filmgenres erinnere ich mich spontan an einzelne deiner Motive von Flores del mal, die genau diese Ästhetik spiegeln. Was hat dich eigentlich zur Idee dieser Serie geführt?

[Im Ausstellungskatalog suche ich nach Beispielen, bevor wir dann den geplanten Szenenwechsel zum Zwischengeschoss antreten. Dort befindet sich ein Leuchtkasten mit „Flores del mal“-Motiv. Nach circa acht Wiederholungen des Treppenaufgangs („Falsches Objektiv“, „Zu wenig Licht“, „Zweite Kamera im Bild“…) beantwortet Fabio die Frage, die ich vor einer gefühlten halben Stunde gestellt habe.]

Beispielfotos aus der Serie „Flores del mal“

Szene 5 Zwischengeschoss: Fragen zu „Flores del mal“

Fabio: Die Idee entwickelte sich, als ich Schnittblumen für meine Frau kaufte. Ich wurde mir plötzlich bewusst, dass diese Blumen, die doch für uns lebendige Schönheit spiegeln, schon tot sind. Ihre symbolische Bedeutung für Vergänglichkeit, für Leben und Tod wurde in diesem Moment so offenbar. Ich überlegte, wie ich diese fragile, naturale Sterblichkeit auf den Menschen übertragen und fotografisch zum Ausdruck bringen könnte. Spontan kamen mir dabei die Erzählungen über Mensch-Natur-Metamorphosen in der Mythologie und die wunderbaren Skulpturen, wie beispielsweise die der Nymphe Daphne von Lorenzo Bellini aus der Zeit der Renaissance in den Sinn.

Elke: Ist darin auch der Grund zu finden, warum die Modelle nackt posieren?

Fabio: Absolut. Jedes Stück Textil hätte das Konzept zerstört. Ich wollte die Verbindung aus Blumen und Körper Göttinnen gleich wie eine natürliche Verwachsung visualisieren.

Elke: Warum hast du dich denn dann für den Titel Flores del mal, übersetzt „Blumen des Bösen“ entschieden?

Fabio: Es gibt einen gleichnamigen Gedichtband von Charles Baudelaire, der 1857 veröffentlicht worden ist [Originaltitel: „Les Fleurs du Mal“]. Der Band hatte seinerzeit einen literarischen Skandal ausgelöst, der sogar zum Verbot der Gedichte geführt hat. Auch Baudelaires bediente sich darin der Symbolik der Verwandlung. Doch war die Art und Weise seiner Umsetzung als vulgärer Realismus angeprangert worden. Und genau dieser Mix aus Realismus und Symbolismus, der Hauch des Anrüchigen, und nicht zuletzt die poetische Referenz als solche, bildeten für mich die Grundlage diesen Titel auch für meine Fotografie-Serie zu wählen.

Elke: Also bist du wieder deinem Hang zur dramatischen Inszenierung gefolgt. Deshalb die harten Hell-Dunkel-Kontraste, starken Schatten und die insgesamt mystische Anmutung?

Fabio: Ganz genau. Das gehörte zum Konzept.

 

Elke [Voice-over]: So langsam gibt sich der rote Faden zu erkennen. Könnte man den Begriff des „Film noir“ nicht vielleicht im Sinne von Film-Stills auf die Fotografie übertragen? Hiermit ließe sich der Stil der Bilder von Fabio Borquez in Worte fassen. Seine Figuren inszeniert er oft mit einer gewissen Frivolität, in düsterer Stimmung, scheinbar gefangen in urbanen Stadträumen oder inmitten surreal anmutender Natur. All das sind typische Merkmale des „Film noir“.

[Die Ankunft von Kristine, der langjährigen Visagistin von Fabio unterbricht mein Gedankenspiel und bestimmt den nächsten Szenenwechsel. Um ihn live bei der Arbeit erleben und hiermit gleichzeitig ein besonderes Coverfoto für meinen Blog kreieren zu können, war bereits im Vorfeld die Idee entstanden, mich als Modell für ein weiteres Motiv der Serie „Flores des Mal“ zu inszenieren. Jetzt geht es also los. Ich werde mich in ein menschliches Hortensiengewächs verwandeln.]

Szene 6 Esszimmer: Coverfoto-Styling

Styling und Shooting

Szene 7 Studio: Shooting

[Halbnackt vor dem gesamten Team im gnadenlosen Studiolicht zu posieren, ist nicht unbedingt die beste Voraussetzung, um locker in die Kamera zu schauen. Erstmals bin ich deshalb unermesslich erleichtert, als endlich das ersehnte „Cut“ ertönt.]

Verschiedene Ergebnisse des Shootings

Epilog

Was für ein Tag! Und was für eine Flut an Bildmaterial! Am Abend erscheint es mir noch völlig unmöglich, dass aus diesem Durcheinander ein Film entstehen könnte. Doch haben mich die bisher gesichteten Rohschnitte mehr als positiv überrascht. Hier ist tatsächlich ein Filmliebhaber am Werk, der mit bewegten Bildern seine eigene Geschichte und damit auch die seiner Fotografie erzählt. Eine Independent-Kunstdoku vor dem Hintergrund einer „Fotografie noir“.

Wahrhaftig ein Experiment. Ihr dürft gespannt sein!

Weitere Informationen

Website Fabio Borquez:

https://fabio-borquez.com

Meine Ankaufsempfehlung

Motiv aus der Serie „Flores del Mal“ (2019)

Aludibond Print

Ultrachrom-Pigmentur auf PCR 310 Papier

Nr. 1/10

Courtesy: The Artist

Preis: 6000€ (zzgl. Versand)

Bei Interesse meldet euch bitte per Email mit Angabe des Künstlernames und des Kunstwerks. Zur Kontaktseite