Louisa Clement

Can physical emptiness be filled digitally?

Studio photos: Natascha Romboy

Bonn. Can physical emptiness be filled digitally? How do the interpersonal relationships change in the era of digitalisation? These are questions that occupy Louisa Clement’s mind and have been occupying mine ever since I visited her. I increasingly understand the power of digital communication which currently appears to help us to mainly maintain the contact with the outside world – while the pandemic is raging. “Your Likes made my day “, so popular now, is assuming a worrying undertone…..

I first noticed Clement’s works in the SAD BOT TRUE group exhibition in the Kunst & Denker Galerie Düsseldorf. The clean and futuristic looking aesthetics of her photographs and sculptures had both instantly attracted me magically and caused me to feel somewhat emotionally worried. I want to find out why during our meeting.

f.l.t.r. motives from the series: Avatar (2016), Gliedermensch (2017), fracture (2016)

We meet in her beautiful “Altbauwohnung” (apartment in a pre-WWII tenement). The beautifully laid coffee table in front of the floor-to-ceiling bookshelf filled chock-a-block with literature emphasises this ambience and invites to some small talk. We chat about her enthusiasm for art, influenced by her family, and her studies.

First Smalltalk …

E.B.: You live directly next to your mother’s gallery [Gisela Clement]. One may assume, therefore, that you had contact with art from an early age?

Clement: Yes, that is correct. My uncle is an architect, my father writes, my mother has had a gallery for the last ten years, and visits of museums and galleries were part of our leisure activities. It was always obvious to me that I would study art.

E.B.: You started studying at the Akademie in Karlsruhe. Why did you change to Andreas Gursky’s class in Düsseldorf?

Clement: In Karlsruhe I attended a class that focussed on painting. During my studies I became aware that painting was not really my thing. Andreas Gursky was more open regarding the choice of medium. In his class, the content and how it could best be visualised, formed the centre. That, ultimately, influenced my approach to the idea of a picture.

E.B.: And this obviously also determined the media diversity in your works. You are all over the place with photography, sculpturing, installations, video and virtual reality. What is amazing is that your own, special visual language, which is somewhat suggestive of science fiction, is always recognizable. Was there a first, central idea on which this characteristic aesthetics was based?

Clement: Perhaps more a central range of topics. While I was still studying, I became very aware of the changes in our communication. And I don’t just mean the fact that it became increasingly digital, but how differently we act in the digital as opposed to the real world. On the one hand, a spontaneous emotionality and openness is displayed via emojis, Likes and comments by complete strangers, but on the other hand, increasingly greater distances are becoming more common during actual physical encounters. Something like second identities emerge particularly on online portals of social media. I found this interplay within the parallel worlds unbelievably interesting and continue to explore it from various perspectives. To get back to the aesthetics. I expect it emerged from having to find an image layer which moves between the physical and the digital world and which, as the end result, might suggest something science-fiction-like.

E.B.: The process for such pictorial invention seems quite demanding to me………..

Clement: It is indeed [laughs]. Each work cycle is preceded by research of up to half a year and gathering endless information, until finally – usually at the point of super-saturation – an idea for a picture emerges in my head.

E.B.: What was the basis for your idea to cast, of all things, AI sex dolls in bronze?

Clement: One of these sculptures is lying next door. Maybe let’s talk about it while looking at it?

Bronze from the series Mould (2020)

We walk into the room next door, which turns out to be a kind of showroom. I don’t know where to look first – paintings from various series: “Heads”, “Gliedermensch”, “Avatars” and “Body” adorn the walls, sculptures the windowsill and said bronze the floor. One can clearly see the body of a female form without a head, from the back, as if cut into half; it is cast into a mould as if in sand. And if that is not bizarre enough, there is a much smaller sculpture on the floor, a little way off. It is the casting mould of the body of a baby …

In the showroom …

Clement: [follows my eyes] Yes. I know. Scary. Exploring this, I felt extreme emotional turmoil. Within the context of my questions regarding changes of communication and interaction caused by the technical progress, it was inevitable that I would confront the great topics of man and machine, artificial intelligence and disembodiment in the sense of futuristic theories. It does not take long to come across object fetishism and sex dolls.

Last year, I was in America – the second largest sales market after Asia. In Los Angeles, I heard of people who live with dolls as partners or who carry around with them reborn baby dolls as a child substitute. These people often live at great distances from each other, are totally isolated and hardly have a chance for a personal conversation. Almost like in a permanent lock-down. That gave me the idea for this work. Back in Germany, I made contact with various people living in such circumstances. Their loneliness was palpable.

During Louisa’s explanation I stare, mesmerized, at the sculptures. Now I can see the burden of loneliness in the weight of the bronze, the superficiality and disembodiment in the shell, and the utopia and dystopia of technical progress in the positive-negative casting.

Placed in the immediate proximity of the sculptures are her photographic works from the “Body” series. At first glance, they appear to be like large-scale negatives. Various, almost life-size nudes seen from behind in various postures. A closer look shows that no “real“ people could have posed as models. I ask.

Middle and right: Motives from the series Body (2019)

Clement: That is correct. Once again, the basis for the AI dolls were the moulds, which, in this case, I photographed. By using various digital filters, the body, which can be seen as a blank space in the sculpture, developed a volume in the photograph. A technical interplay, in which my question, whether it is possible to fill physical emptiness digitally, literally formed pictorially.

E.B.: Do you use analogue or digital photography? The pictorial language often reminds me of the classical modernism. A kind of mixture of surrealism and futurism …

f.l.t.r.: Louisa Clement, Motives from the series: heads (2014 – 2015), on one’s way (2013), Gliedermensch (2017)

Clement: That is inevitable. In my research I fall back on literature and art, that deals with the effects of technical progress on man since the beginning of the industrial revolution. In order to make the contemporary reference, I decided, amongst other things, to use the cell phone rather than the camera for taking photos. The cell phone as part of the mass media of our times has significantly changed our communication. Accordingly, my contents are technically transported by using it.

E.B.: Talking about communication. Here is one of your “Atavar” motifs. Again, the figures appear to be human, but they have been arranged towards each other in diverse ways and appear to be relating to each other. The smooth, brightly coloured surfaces radiate both perfect beauty and artificiality as well as a kind of forlornness. Missing communication?

Motives from the series Avatar (2016)

Clement: More like the question about intimacy in virtual space or the visualization of the question: “How do we relate to each other when we have no space at all.”?

E.B.: As in “Heads“, display mannequins are again the main actors in this series. Why?

Clement: To me, they are an ideal symbol for standardization. In the digital world, in particular, we are dealing more and more with alignment. Individuality gets lost because there is no genuine, external reaction. The anthropomorphic appearance of the display mannequins evokes the idea of the perfect new human being and, at the same time, its artificiality.

E.B.: Talking about artificiality: Is your art not predestined for a VR visit of an exhibition?

Clement: No. That does simply not work for me. During virtual viewing the sensual dimension is missing. Art and humans function in exactly the same way. It needs the live dialogue.

How true! Dialogue is needed, which I am desperately missing while writing this blog. The involvement with the art of Louise Clement causes emotional turmoil. There is not a single topic that does not touch me personally. What is the reality we live in? Is it all of humanity that is changing right now, or is it well on the way to lose itself? To lose itself in the digital world? Questions which need to be discussed – live! And definitely in a real (physical) exchange with others.

Her exhibition diary of 2021 is full. Actually confirmed is her exhibition “Double Bind” at Kunsthalle Gießen (link below). Keep the dates! …#staytuned ,)

Further Information

Website of the artist: http://www.louisa-clement.de

Upcoming exhibition at Kunsthalle Gießen 30.4.–11.7.2021: Kunsthalle-giessen.html

My purchase recommendation

Avatar 25 (2016)

Inkjet Print, framed

1/5 + 2AP

Size: 115 x 86 cm / 45 1/4 x 33 3/4 in

Courtesy: The Artist

Prize: 7800€ (additional VAT and shipping costs)

If you are interested please send an Email with the Artist’s name and artwork. Contact me

Louisa Clement

Lässt sich reale Leere digital füllen?

Atelierfotos: Natascha Romboy

Bonn. Lässt sich reale Leere digital füllen? Wie verändern sich zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung? Fragen, mit denen sich Louisa Clement künstlerisch auseinandersetzt und die mir seit meinem Besuch bei ihr keine Ruhe mehr lassen. Immer stärker realisiere ich die Macht der digitalen Kommunikation, die uns vor allem jetzt – unter den Bedingungen der Pandemie – den scheinbaren Kontakt zur Außenwelt erhält. Das so populär gewordene: „Your Likes made my day“ hat für mich einen beängstigenden Beigeschmack bekommen …

Erstmals aufgefallen waren mir Clements Arbeiten in der Gruppenausstellung SAD BOT TRUE in der Galerie Kunst & Denker in Düsseldorf. Die clean und futuristisch anmutende Ästhetik ihrer Fotografien und Skulpturen hatte mich unmittelbar magisch angezogen und gleichzeitig eine Art emotionale Beklemmung ausgelöst. In unserem Gespräch möchte ich herausfinden warum.

v.l.n.r. Motive aus der Serie Avatar (2016), Gliedermensch (2017), fracture (2016)

Wir treffen uns in ihrer wunderschönen Altbauwohnung. Die stimmungsvoll gedeckte Kaffeetafel vor dem bis zur Decke reichenden, prallvoll mit Literatur gefüllten Bücherregal, unterstreicht das Ambiente und lädt ein zu einem ersten Smalltalk. Wir sprechen über ihre familiär geprägte Kunstbegeisterung und ihr Studium.

Erster Smalltalk …

E.B.: Du wohnst direkt neben der Galerie deiner Mutter [Gisela Clement]. Es lässt sich vermuten, dass du früh mit Kunst in Berührung gekommen bist?

Clement: Ja. Das ist richtig. Mein Onkel ist Architekt, mein Vater schreibt, meine Mutter hat seit zehn Jahren die Galerie, Museums- und Ausstellungsbesuche gehörten zum selbstverständlichen Freizeitprogramm.

Für mich war immer klar, dass ich Kunst studieren wollte.

E.B.: Du hast mit dem Studium an der Akademie in Karlsruhe begonnen. Warum bist du von dort nach Düsseldorf zur Klasse von Andreas Gursky gewechselt?

Clement: In Karlsruhe war ich in einer Klasse mit dem Schwerpunkt Malerei. Während des Studiums stellte ich fest, dass dieses Genre nicht wirklich meins war. Andreas Gursky war hinsichtlich der Wahl des Mediums sehr viel offener. Hier stand der Inhalt, und wie man diesen am besten visualisieren kann, im Vordergrund. Das hat letztlich auch meine Herangehensweise an eine Bildidee geprägt.

E.B.: Und offensichtlich auch die Medienvielfalt in deinen Arbeiten bestimmt. Du bist querbeet zwischen Fotografie, Bildhauerei, Installation, Video und Virtual Reality unterwegs. Erstaunlich ist, dass dennoch immer diese besondere, eigene Bildsprache erkennbar ist, die ein bisschen an Science-Fiction erinnert. Gibt es eine erste zentrale Idee, mit der sich diese charakteristische Ästhetik ausgebildet hat?

Clement: Vielleicht eher ein zentrales Themenfeld. Schon in Akademiezeiten wurde mir die Veränderung unserer Kommunikation sehr stark bewusst. Hiermit meine ich nicht allein die Tatsache, dass diese immer digitaler wird, sondern wie unterschiedlich wir in der digitalen gegenüber der realen Welt interagieren.

Auf der einen Seite wird mittels Emojis, Likes und Kommentaren wildfremden Menschen eine spontane Emotionalität und Offenheit entgegengebracht und auf der anderen Seite in der realen Begegnung eine immer größere Distanz aufgebaut. Insbesondere in Online-Portalen sozialer Medien formen sich geradezu zweite Identitäten aus. Dieses Zwischenspiel innerhalb der Parallelwelten fand ich wahnsinnig interessant und erforsche es seitdem aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven.

Um auf die Ästhetik zurückzukommen: Sie hat sich vermutlich darin ausgebildet, dass es immer wieder eine Bildebene zu finden gilt, die sich zwischen realer und digitaler Welt bewegt und die dann im Ergebnis vielleicht etwas Science-Fiction-Ähnliches ausstrahlt.

E.B.: Der Prozess für eine solche Bildfindung erscheint mir mehr als anspruchsvoll …

Clement: Ist er auch [lacht]. Jedem Werkzyklus geht oft bis zu einem halben Jahr Recherche und ohne Ende Information voraus, bis dann – meist am Punkt der Übersättigung – eine Bildidee in meinem Kopf auftaucht.

E.B.: Auf welcher Grundlage ist denn deine Idee entstanden, ausgerechnet Formen von KI-Sexpuppen in Bronze zu gießen?

Clement: Eine dieser Skulpturen liegt nebenan. Vielleicht erzähle ich einfach etwas darüber in der Life-Ansicht?

Bronze aus der Serie Mould (2020)

Wir gehen in den benachbarten Raum, der sich als eine Art Showroom entpuppt. Ich weiß nicht, wo ich zuerst hinschauen soll: Bilder aus der Serie „Heads“, „Gliedermensch“, „Avatar“ und „Body“ zieren die Wandflächen, Skulpturen die Fensterbank und besagte Bronze den Boden. Deutlich zu erkennen ist die rückseitige, wie durchgeschnittene Hälfte einer weiblichen Körperform ohne Kopf, die in einer Gussmulde wie ein Sandabdruck eingegossen ist. Als wäre das nicht skurril genug, liegt ein wenig entfernt eine weitere, viel kleinere Skulptur. Es ist die Gussform eines Babykörpers …

Im Showroom …

Clement: [folgt meinem Blick] Ja. Ich weiß. Ist gruselig. Die Recherche hierzu hat mich auch extrem emotional aufgewühlt. Im Zusammenhang mit meinen Fragestellungen im Bereich der durch den technischen Fortschritt hervorgerufenen Veränderungen von Kommunikation und Interaktion, stieß ich unwillkürlich irgendwann auch auf die großen Themen Mensch-Maschine, künstliche Intelligenz und Entkörperlichung im Sinne futuristischer Theorien. Da kommt man schnell auf Objekt-Fetisch und Sexpuppen.

Letztes Jahr war ich in Amerika – nach Asien der zweitgrößte Absatzmarkt. In Los Angeles hörte ich von Menschen, die mit Puppen als Partner leben oder Reborn-Babypuppen als Kind-Ersatz mit sich herumtragen. Diese Menschen leben oft weit voneinander entfernt, sind wahnsinnig isoliert und haben kaum die Gelegenheit zu persönlichen Gesprächen. Fast wie in einem Dauer-Lockdown. Das brachte mich auf die Idee zu dieser Arbeit. Zurück in Deutschland nahm ich Kontakt zu verschiedenen Personen auf, die in einer solchen Situation leben. Ihre Einsamkeit war extrem spürbar.

Während Louisas Erklärung starre ich gebannt auf die Skulpturen. In der Schwere der Bronzen sehe ich jetzt die Schwere der Einsamkeit; in der Hülle Oberflächlichkeit und Entkörperlichung; in der Positiv-Negativ-Abformung die Utopie und Dystopie des technischen Fortschritts.

In unmittelbarer Umgebung der Skulpturen sind Fotoarbeiten aus der Serie „Body“ platziert. Im ersten Augenblick erscheinen sie wie großformatige Negative. Verschiedene, nahezu lebensgroße Rückenakte in unterschiedlicher Körperhaltung. In der näheren Betrachtung wird schnell deutlich, dass hier keine „echten“ Menschen Modell gestanden haben können. Ich frage nach.

Mitte und rechts: Motive aus der Serie Body (2019)

Clement: Das ist richtig. Ausgangspunkt waren wieder die Gussformen der KI-Puppen, die ich in diesem Fall fotografiert habe. Durch die Anwendung verschiedenster digitaler Filter hat sich der Körper, der in der Skulptur als Leerstelle zu sehen ist, in der Fotografie irgendwann als Volumen ausgebildet. Ein technisches Wechselspiel, mit dem sich meine Frage, ob reale Leere digital gefüllt werden kann, buchstäblich bildhaft ausformte.

E.B.: Fotografierst du analog oder digital? Die Bildsprache erinnert mich oft an die klassische Moderne. Eine Art Mischung aus Surrealismus und Futurismus …

v.l.n.r.: Louisa Clement, Motive aus der Serie heads (2014 – 2015), on one’s way (2013), Gliedermensch (2017)

Clement: Das bleibt nicht aus. In meinen Recherchen greife ich auch zurück auf die Literatur und Kunst, die sich mit Beginn der industriellen Revolution mit den Auswirkungen des technischen Fortschritts auf den Menschen beschäftigt hat. Um den zeitgenössischen Bezug herzustellen, habe ich mich unter anderem dazu entschieden, nicht mit der Kamera, sondern mit dem Handy zu fotografieren. Das Handy hat als Massenmedium unserer Zeit maßgeblich unsere Kommunikation verändert. Entsprechend finden sich meine Inhalte über dessen Anwendung auch technisch transportiert.

E.B.: Apropos Kommunikation. Hier ist eines deiner „Avatar“-Motive zu sehen. Wieder sind es menschlich anmutende Erscheinungen, die hier aber in verschiedenster Form zueinander arrangiert sind und in Beziehung zueinander zu stehen scheinen. Die glatten, grellbunten Oberflächen strahlen einerseits perfekte Schönheit, andererseits Künstlichkeit und auch eine Art von Verlorenheit aus. Eine fehlende Kommunikation?

Motive aus der Serie Avatar (2016)

Clement: Eher die Frage nach Intimität im virtuellen Raum oder die Verbildlichung der Frage: „Wie stehen wir zueinander, wenn wir doch gar keinen Raum haben.“

E.B.: Wie bereits bei „Heads“ sind auch in dieser Serie wieder Schaufensterpuppen die Protagonisten. Warum?

Clement: Sie sind für mich ein ideales Sinnbild für Normierung. Insbesondere in der digitalen Welt geht es immer mehr um Angleichung. Individualität verliert sich, weil es an echter Reaktion von außen fehlt. Die anthropomorphe Erscheinung der Schaufensterpuppen evoziert die Vorstellung des perfekten neuen Menschen und gleichzeitig dessen Künstlichkeit.

E.B.: Stichwort Künstlichkeit. Ist deine Kunst nicht prädestiniert für einen VR-Ausstellungsbesuch?

Clement: Nein. Funktioniert für mich absolut nicht. Bei der virtuellen Betrachtung fehlt die sinnliche Dimension. Kunst und Menschen funktionieren genau gleich. Es braucht den Live-Dialog.

Wie wahr! Es braucht den Dialog, der mir gerade beim Schreiben dieses Beitrages extrem fehlt. Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Kunst von Louisa Clement wühlt auf. Kein einziger Themenbereich, der mich nicht persönlich anfasst: In welcher Wirklichkeit leben wir? Verändert sich gerade die gesamte Menschheit oder ist sie gar auf dem besten Weg, sich zu verlieren? Zu verlieren in der digitalen Welt? Fragen, über die es zu diskutieren gilt. Life! Und unbedingt im realen Austausch mit anderen.

Ihr Ausstellungskalender für 2021 ist gefüllt. Bestätigt ist derzeit die Ausstellung „Double Bind“ in der Kunsthalle Gießen (s. Link). Haltet die Termine im Blick! … #staytuned ,)

Weitere Informationen

Website der Künstlerin: http://www.louisa-clement.de

Upcoming Exhibition: Kunsthalle Gießen 30.4.–11.7.2021: kunsthalle-giessen.html

Meine Ankaufsempfehlung

Avatar 25 (2016)

Inkjet Print, gerahmt

1/5 + 2AP

Größe: 115 x 86 cm / 45 1/4 x 33 3/4 in

Courtesy: The Artist

Preis: 7800€ (zzgl. UST und Versand)

Bei Interesse meldet euch bitte per Email mit Angabe des Künstlernames und des Kunstwerks. Zur Kontaktseite